Old 29 April 2013, 06:29   #1

Town: Lancashire
Length: no boat
Sib experience in Mallorca

Hi

Complete newbie to the boating scene, looking to put together an inflatable boat over the next 18 months or so...and after some advice if any out there!

The main purpose of the boat would be for day trips around the coast of Mallorca and some tubing/rings etc for the kids.

Boat needs to fit family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids - under 10) and must be easy to store as it will be kept in a small balcony shed! Will be used for around 5 weeks each year in July/August.

Probably looking at used with budget around £2k - I intend to get ICC this year so engine size not limited. I assume an inflatable would be the best option but would consider others if there was cheap enough storage/launch options

Could anyone out there also advise about using Sibs in Mallorca.

Can you launch/land on beaches without any problems?

Are there any cheap ways of mooring a boat whilst inflated? (we don't have transport or trailer so don't want to reinflate everytime).

Our apt is at Cala Dor Marina but that is quite expensive for a months berth! - though may be the best option in terms of practicality!

Sorry for a long winded first post!!

Many thanks
Old 29 April 2013, 10:04   #2

Town: St Helens
Boat name: Wine Down
Make: Maxum
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
We kept our boat out in the Balearic's for 2 years and carried a small sib as a tender to carry 2 adults and 2 young children.

To try and answer your questions. First of all the Med isnt always the beautiful glassy watery playground that it looks like from the shore, it can get very rough, especially in the afternoons. Bare this in mind when picking a boat.