Old 17 June 2009, 18:15   #1

Length: 3m +
quicksilver 3.8 help required

Hi I have a quicksilver 3.8 with ply wood floor and 25hp mariner engine. This floor has come apart whilst on the water a couple of times ( ie the alloy tongue and groove part has seperated) Can anybody explain what I may be doing wrong? I am thinking,

1) Sea too rough with a 18 to 24 inch swell

2) Going too fast

3) not inflated correctly ( what is the correct pressure )

4) overloaded 3 x 15 stone blokes

5) floor not installed correctly ( it has the metal side pieces for the floor )

As you can probably tell I am a novice but this seems like the best place to get the info I need.

Many thanks Tim
Old 17 June 2009, 19:06   #2

Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by timofleeds View Post
Hi I have a quicksilver 3.8 with ply wood floor and 25hp mariner engine. This floor has come apart whilst on the water a couple of times ( ie the alloy tongue and groove part has seperated) Can anybody explain what I may be doing wrong? I am thinking,

1) Sea too rough with a 18 to 24 inch swell

2) Going too fast

3) not inflated correctly ( what is the correct pressure )

4) overloaded 3 x 15 stone blokes

5) floor not installed correctly ( it has the metal side pieces for the floor )

As you can probably tell I am a novice but this seems like the best place to get the info I need.

Many thanks Tim

I have sold, built, used and customised more of these boats than I could count and none have ever popped a floor!

Speed will not do it, nor will three normal sized blokes. Pressure is a slim possibility but I think favourite is the installation option.

Photos may be required.
Old 17 June 2009, 22:41   #3

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
I would guess the floorboards aren't being pushed pully into the aluminium extrusions - or else they are sitting too high in the boat - not under the tubes.
Old 18 June 2009, 04:52   #4

Town: Adelaide