Old 25 January 2020, 16:56   #1

Town: Abu Dhabi
Length: 3m +
Engine: 5 HP
PVC Trolly/Dolly for inflatable boat

Dear All

I know that this question might be asked here before, but this is my first time in this forum...

I have an inflatable boat of 3.5 meters with a 5 HP motor, I believe the weights of both would be around 50 KG or a little more, and I am planning to build a PVC trolly to take my boat into / and out of the sea but could not find any practical plan or reliable design out of PVC so far, I looked for those on youtube and the ones I found were for much less weight than my boat and its motor.

Anyone have built something like that ? any pictures / tried designs ?

Thank you all for the helpful ideas
Old 25 January 2020, 19:30   #2

Town: Cardiff
Length: no boat
Why a trolley and not just use transom mounted launching wheels?
Old 26 January 2020, 09:07   #3

Town: Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mousetrap
Make: Zodiac Cadet 310S
Engine: Mariner 4 stroke 9.9
I see the original poster is from Abu Dhabi so may not have access to the same range of retailers and products as those of us in Europe or the USA.

My first choice for a boat that size would be transom mounted wheels. These are an excellent solution. One of my SIBs had no wheels and was difficult to manoeuvre on shore. One had cheap hard plastic wheels and was fairly easy to move about. This one has pneumatic tyres on long stainless legs and I can move it very easily.

Second choice would be to buy a purpose made trolley. These are readily available from sites like eBay. Search for "launch trolley". They can also be ordered via local chandlers.

Of course, if there is any prospect of launching at a variety of sites, a towable trailer might be an option.

I can see no benefit in "reinventing the wheel" by making a trolley. If you wish to do so as an interesting project, why use PVC? I would have thought it was too flexible and vulnerable to breakage or buckling.
Old 26 January 2020, 10:00   #4

Town: Retford