Old 16 July 2012, 19:48   #1

Town: Seattle
Boat name: M/V BILL MURRAY
Make: Achilles SPD-4AD
Length: 3m +
Engine: 9.9hp Evinrude
outfitting a SIB: need to have/nice to have

What would you consider a good general purpose kit for outfitting a small 10ft SIB for semi-open water operation? (Seattle/Puget Sound - coast running or Sound jumping)

I'm trying to common-sense it out but I have no experience here. Below is what I have, what do you think is missing or excess?

Mechanical / Utility:
Manual bilge pump
Hypalon repair kit
Small tool kit
Anchor - 2.6kg Bruce, 6ft chain, 200ft line
2x Oars
Small foot pump
Extendable boat hook
Crappy battery powered nav lights front (red/green) and rear (white)
Launch wheels

Navigation:

Hand compass
iPhone/iPad with Navionics and Memory Map in waterproof case

Radio:
VHF Body Radio
Spare AA/AAA batteries

Rescue/First Aid:

Air Horn
Spare PFD
Sunscreen
Emergency rope throw-bag
2x bottles water
Small first aid kit

6x Gal Dinghymate transom mounted fuel tank
3x Gal reserve
2 cycle oil

As stated, this is in the Seattle/Puget Sound area. Some fishing will be done with it but it will largely be used for transport. Feels like this boat is a little small for what I would like to ultimately do (diving/camping), but thought it'd be a good starter boat that fit my budget while I learned the lines. (see what I did there?)

This is my first season/first boat - 10ft Achilles SIB with a 10hp motor - details posted in a few threads now, sorry for the repeat.
Old 16 July 2012, 20:35   #2
RIBnet Supporter

Length: 4m +
Have a read at this.

You seem to have a very large amount of fuel
Old 16 July 2012, 21:19   #3

Oh that's perfect - thank you. Searched but missed that somehow.

Yeah, you can lose a lot of fuel crossing the Puget Sound, noodling around for a weekend and then the trip back.
Old 16 July 2012, 21:25   #4

Make: Valiant 520
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 80 EFI
Dont see any flares on your list!!!
Old 16 July 2012, 21:28   #5
SR4