Old 02 June 2019, 20:54   #1

Make: Zodiac Futura 2C
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 40v
Optimising Zodiac Futura 2c with 40HP Yamaha 2 stroke

hi all,

Just bought a Zodiac Futura 2c 3.8m and a Yamaha 40v short shaft tiller and was wondering what the best setup is. The outboard currently has a 10" diameter and 12" pitch prop on it and was wondering what size would be a good upgrade if I am looking for more speed, and will only usually have 1 or 2 people in, 11" x 17" maybe? I don't know the engine RPM nor the top speed but I can buy a tach and find out if that's what's necessary.
Any tips or tricks on getting the most from the boat as I am new to this would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks

James
Old 02 June 2019, 21:01   #2

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase
You need the tach James find out your WOT RPM and work from there assuming your set up perfect it will be easy to get optimum of course depends what you want I'm down 2 inches on pitch so I get more response in rough water to maintain the plane for example.
Old 02 June 2019, 21:04   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
You need the tach James find out your WOT RPM and work from there assuming your set up perfect it will be easy to get optimum of course depends what you want I'm down 2 inches on pitch so I get more response in rough water to maintain the plane for example.
wise words ill get a tach and see what I'm getting next weekend, is 10" diameter normal as eBay seems to have the 40hp props at 11+"
Old 03 June 2019, 08:34   #4

RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesess View Post
wise words ill get a tach and see what I'm getting next weekend, is 10" diameter normal as eBay seems to have the 40hp props at 11+"