Old 12 September 2018, 01:41   #1

Town: California
Make: AMPAC
Length: 4m +
Old AMPAC SW-126 Restoration

Hello All,

I am new to RIBnet, so please let me know if this is an out-of-line thread.

I recently purchased an old AMPAC inflatable boat (Model SW-126). Other than the brochure, I have zero information on this boat. It is well used, but I think it would be a fun restoration project. A little info about the boat: It is 12' 6", made of Hypalon, has an aluminum floor, is rated for a 45HP outboard (according to the tag on the transom) and it's from 1982.

Once I figure out how to insert photos, I will.

The boat will hold air, but all chambers lose some pressure over a 24 hour period (maybe a third deflated, but not flat). There is extensive sun fading on the top, but the bottom is good. The material is still very flexible. The transom is in good shape, and there is nothing rotting or or any major damage.

Does anyone have any information on this boat? (or any AMPAC boat?)

My plan to restore this boat includes the following steps:
1 - wash the boat (it is dirty with some cobwebs, I figure dish-washing liquid, water, and a sponge)
2 - Spray the clean, inflated boat to see if I can id the source of any leaks (same solution as above).
3 - Patch any leaks that I discover (if they can be patched)
4 - seal the tubes with tube sealant (I don't know which one is best for this task, plus I live in California and I don't know what is available).
5 - Install new umbrella valves (they look like old Zodiac brass military spec valves, and I think I can find the umbrellas. Should I do this before or after I seal the tubes?)
6 - Clean the rubber components (like the fender and the name patches. Again, I don't know what is best for this, and available in California).
7 - Re-glue any gaps in the rubber components (the fender is peeling in one spot. Glue is another suggestion I could use)
8 - Reinforce the seams with Hypalon strips glued over them.