Old 26 July 2011, 14:09   #1

Town: Encinitas, CA
Boat name: Dont have one!
Make: TBD
Length: no boat
Engine: Will be outboard
Noob with a few Questions

Goodmorning everyone,

I recently joined the forum and everyone on here seems to know what they are talking about! Thank you to everyone who will assist me now and in the future, I appreciate it!

I recently had a birthday and I want to buy a RIB or SIB as a present to myself. I have been looking at SIB/Inflatables because they are cheaper (I'm a semi-broke college student) but I LOVE the look of RIB's. I want a boat that can take me to the kelp beds for diving/spear fishing, some reefs, and some surf spots you cant get to by land. I have been mainly looking at Zodiac FC470's and other similar inflatables since its perfect for diving/fishing. But one of my passionate hobbies is wakeboarding. My family owns a Mastercraft X-30 wakeboard edition and we alsways use it, unfortunately its a fresh water boat and I won't dare take it in the ocean. SO, after that long intro, my question is, is it possible to tow a wakeboarder behind a SIB? What HP outboard would I need if it is possible? I knows its possible behind a RIB and later on in life I will most likely get one but for now I will most likely have to get a SIB. If it is possible is there a certain SIB I should be looking for? Any pics you want to post feel free!

Anyways thanks for all the input! I appreciate it!

D
Old 26 July 2011, 14:37   #2

Town: Cotswolds
Make: Avon SR4
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp
Welcome!
Budget?
Preference for second hand / new?

Alasdair
Old 26 July 2011, 14:49   #3

My budget is as cheap as possible but maybe around $4,000-$5,000. I have some old cars I am going to sell and will use that money. Hopefully will get around that amount if I am as good of a sales man as I think. And I will most likely go used since they are cheaper. Thanks!

D
Old 26 July 2011, 15:22   #4

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +