Old 16 June 2015, 13:49   #1

Length: under 3m
Newbie alert

Hi all,

I am a newbie to RIB well SIBs, I am considering getting a small SIB around 3m and motor to use with my family, when we are away in our touring caravan. There we hit the first obsticle, in that I tow the caravan so the "rig" will need to be transported either in the boot or split between the boot and the roof of the car along with childrens bikes.

So my first question is are SIBs easy to deflate and fold up and get back in to the bag or are they one of these, " there is no way that is going back in there once out "

What is the protocol for beach launching, or again is it down to local bylaws.

Just so you dont think its another all the gear and no idea, I spent my weekends and holidays before wife mortgage and kids waterskiing and wakeboarding around the welsh coast and then moved to sit on top kayaks to escape for an hour but now the family want to join in

Cheers
Old 16 June 2015, 14:11   #2

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouldy View Post
So my first question is are SIBs easy to deflate and fold up and get back in to the bag or are they one of these, " there is no way that is going back in there once out
I suspect that there will be a specific method to getting the thing back in the original bags (most boats I've seen have the floor and stringers and assorted other parts in one bag, and the tube/floor/transom in another.) Once you figure out how to fold the boat to fit, it shouldn't be all that bad. A slightly larger bag may make that a lot easier (assuming someone can sew one up for you.)

jky
Old 16 June 2015, 16:02   #3

Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
There's a definite knack to it, one way is to suck all of the air out with the pump. That said I only ever get it near enough for travelling as I like to rinse the saltwater off & dry it thoroughly until next time.
Old 16 June 2015, 16:35   #4