Old 19 August 2014, 00:46   #1

Town: cannock
Boat name: Harpoon
Make: Zodiac futura
Length: 3m +
Engine: 30 hp

Hello to all .

Iam new to sibs . Ihave used one a few times this year for fishing in wales . 15hp 2 stroke on a tidal wave with a wooden floor . which i just got it from the motorhome and took it to the beach built it up , blew it up , engine on and in the sea with the misses . We had lots of fun and have been bit by the bug .
I have got another sib now a 30hp zodiac futura 1997 with a split trailer (one on top launch ) . I stayed on a campsite over the weekend in wales aberfon with its own slip and was looking forward to trying it out . The weather was to rough and never launched it but tried . I have never used a slip before and would like tips ? The engine is to heavy to carry to the beach . I also was wondering is the engine the same as the 40 hp in weight 63 kg and is the only difference is the carb . Does any one know good places to go for newbies lol ? . Do you need insurance to use slips and do you have to register your boat ?

Reagrds harpo
Old 19 August 2014, 06:31   #2

Town: St Helens
Boat name: Wine Down
Make: Maxum
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
The slip at Aberfon is very exposed and it doesnt take much wind or the wind in the wrong direction to make it unusable.Not launching is sometimes the right decision.

For 99% of the sea slips In the UK you do not need any insurance, however if you are launching in North Wales you do, along with a council licence. ( You dont need this if launching on private slips like Aberfon or Ronnies). Having said that, insurance is cheap so I would suggest you get some anyway.

For launching tips have a look at Youtube, lots of good advice and even better, quite a lot of what not to do Tubes.