Old 03 June 2018, 20:30   #1

Length: under 3m
New to this

Hi. I always wanted a boat so im looking to buy a simple 3-4 inflatable boat for my family, something like excursion 4 and electric motor. I dont know anything about this so im kind off googling away and looking on guides , youtube etc...

My question is can i use it on uk rivers and cannals ? Where do i find this info and where to start ?

Please be patient as this is my first time on any kind of forum
Old 03 June 2018, 21:10   #2

Town: Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mousetrap
Make: Zodiac Cadet 310S
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 4 stroke 9.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by niedzial1983 View Post
Hi. I always wanted a boat so im looking to buy a simple 3-4 inflatable boat for my family, something like excursion 4 and electric motor. I dont know anything about this so im kind off googling away and looking on guides , youtube etc...

My question is can i use it on uk rivers and cannals ? Where do i find this info and where to start ?

Please be patient as this is my first time on any kind of forum
I have a very good quality and expensive electric outboard (Torqeedo) and I would not rely on it as my main power for a day out. At slow speed, I might get an hour and a half out of it. Inflatables have a lot of drag at low speeds and use up the battery quickly.

The only advantage of an electric outboard would be if you intended to go on reservoirs where petrol outboards are forbidden.

You can get a small used petrol outboard cheaply. It will give you more power and more range. You don't have to go fast, but even a 3 hp petrol will shift a decent sized inflatable against moderate sea waves or a reasonable river current.

As for licensing, the best option for most of us is day tickets. Licensing a boat for a whole year, or for a sustained period, is expensive, so if you're going to launch and recover and do the odd day here and there, pay as you go.