Old 25 February 2022, 12:25   #1

Town: Wyboston, Bedford
Length: no boat
New to SIB's

Hello,

I am new to SIB's and have just been researching a suitable boat for single handing on my local river (Great Ouse) as well as the Lakes and the Scottish Lochs.

I was considering this;

https://www.excel-inflatables.co.uk/...oat-xhd485.php

From my intro post it becomes apparent that this may not be practical for me on my own.

I have also considered this which is a bit lighter and smaller;

https://www.fishingmad.co.uk/12135-b...boat-13ft.html

I do like a lot of space and will be carrying quite a lot of camping gear. I'm not really interested in speed - more economical cruising but would like the capacity to get out of trouble if need be on the bigger Scottish lochs.

Does anybody have any experience of the Bison SIB's or would like to make further suggestions?

I would like an aluminium floor but could be swayed to an airdeck.

Thanks in advance.
Old 25 February 2022, 19:51   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Some random thoughts...

I wondered why you want a lot of room if it sounds like it's just you? If solo a 3.2-3.5m would hold enough gear surely. Unless there is a really good reason for it weight and bulk can be a right nuisance unless on a trailer.

Re brands in truth many are very similar in build quality... despite what you might hear from over loyal owners. If you are considering an alloy floor model with low pressure sausage keel for leisure use by and large they will all perform the same. So it might just come down to price, availability or even colour.