Old 01 August 2022, 03:59   #1

Town: Bournemouth
Length: 3m +
Launching advice please

Hi, I'm a total novice and have recently purchased a 3.7 sib so looking for plenty of advice !
Living in the Bournemouth area I was looking at the Christchurch public slips. The boat is not trailered but has transome wheels. What sort of window would I have in regards to tides etc ? Would Baiter park be more suitable for a total novice ?
Words of wisdom appreciated 🙏
Old 01 August 2022, 13:13   #2

Town: Somerset
Make: Takacat
Hi Mazza 143, and welcome.
I’ve no experience of those slipways, but Baiter park in Poole would be a good place to start. Gentle slipway into the harbour, plenty of parking, and a tap to wash the boat down afterwards. There are usually other boat users about to offer help if you need it, too.
Being tidal, but within the harbour, gives you some protection from wind and waves, and has good sailing without necessarily heading out past the Sandbanks ferry to sea. Harbour dues are included in parking price at the car park machine. Have a look at Poole harbour commissioners website for further info. At low tides, some areas get very shallow, so worth getting a chart of the harbour, and looking at tide times( Easytide is a good website, but there are others to).
Old 03 August 2022, 06:59   #3

Might be worth going to look at the slip a couple of hours off low water one evening just to see how mucky it is and to plan in your mind how you'd organise things.

Hauling a 3.7m sib on transom wheels up a slip can be quite hard work depending on your set up or whether you are doing it alone.
Old 03 August 2022, 11:53   #4

Town: Aberdeenshire
Length: no boat
Would agree with the guys about it being hard work on your own. 3.9 Volaire with a 20hp suzuki on it is about as much as I could haul up at my local slip on my own and it isn't very steep at all compared to some I've seen.

Couple of half fit beer guts and its ok