Old 21 May 2020, 11:18   #1

Length: 3m +
Launch points around Derby / Notts

Hi all, I'm new to this but have a 3.8m Honwave with launch wheels that I mainly intend to beach launch. I want to chuck it in the water locally ( rivers / lakes ) as I need to run in my new Suzi DF20 outboard. I've had a look on boat launch but its quite scarcely populated for my area in terms of non-commercial points with access via banks etc and most if not all the commercial ones are closed at the moment. I am also a little unsure where I can and can't go with a powered craft on local rivers ( Trent / Derwent ). Any advice or locations greatly received.
I'll add to the Boatlaunch database when I find some good spots.

PS I have done my PB2 and have insurance.

Thanks

Chris
Old 21 May 2020, 18:30   #2

Town: Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mousetrap
Make: Zodiac Cadet 310S
Engine: Mariner 4 stroke 9.9
You can try boatlaunch.co.uk which is a pretty good resource.

I launch free at:
Farndon free public slip next to the Boat House pub, Farndon near Newark. Trent.
Hazelford Ferry, free slip down Boat Lane near Fiskerton. Trent.
The free slip next to the Plough, Normanton on Soar. Soar.
Over the side at Kegworth shallow lock. Soar.

Occasionally, I have paid to use the slip at Sawley Marina (Trent) , or the slip at Redhill Marina (Soar, leading to the Trent).
Old 22 May 2020, 07:01   #3

Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4Chris View Post
I am also a little unsure where I can and can't go with a powered craft on local rivers ( Trent / Derwent ).
Chris
Welcome to the forum!
Unfortunately day licenses are no longer available so the cheapest way is a 30 day Explorer license. I would buy the river only version as there's lot's of submerged debris in canals waiting to slice you open.