Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 07 October 2013, 20:15   #1

Length: no boat
Inflatable boat and outboard for UK waterways?

Hi all,
I am a complete novice at all things boating. I'm a keen outdoorsman, and ex military so consider myself to be relatively practical, and love exploration but have never had much experience of boats, short of several raft races, and day's on the river wye in canoes. I did go to a kayak club some years ago but not for a particularly long time.

I'm interested in maybe getting myself a second hand inflatable dinghy, with a small outboard, that I can put in (or on top of) the land rover, and use for a days zipping up and down the river. Potentially even the odd trip stopping at certain points, and camping on the riverbank, if that's the done thing.

Firstly, what do I need in order to do this? Do I legally need to have insurance, or a certain license, or anything like that? or can I just buy a dinghy and go play. (If so, would this be pretty irresponsible without proper training?)

Secondly, any ideas on what I should be looking at. Finding a used dinghy and small outboard on ebay for under 500 quid seems just about possible.

Any answers would be very welcome, as this is outside of my comfort-zone, but something I'd love to get involved in.
Thanks
Dan.
Old 07 October 2013, 20:23   #2

Town: teesside
Length: 6m +
Engine: mercury 75
Hi Dan

I was new to all this in June, having a dinghy on the water is great fun, I can only advise on what I have found
Insurance is recomended and required to use Canal and River Trust Waterways
I pay about £8 for a day licence to use the local river (Tees) about 14 miles clean none tidal water
Your budget is probably right to get started (I paid £800 for boat/engine/trailer) but you might get an end of season bargain.
It is adictive and you will want a bigger / faster boat soon.
Old 07 October 2013, 20:41   #3

Length: 3m +