Old 13 May 2008, 15:57   #1

Town: Minnesota
Boat name: none yet
Make: Metzeler
Length: 3m +
Engine: none yet
Help with old Metzeler

Hi all, new to the forums. I just picked up an older Metzeler 11' inflatable. I've been looking for Zodiacs for scuba diving but came across this beast for $99 and could not resist. I have a few questions since I am very new to inflatable boats (not new to boats in general).

1. I am unable to determine the year of the boat. It's a Metzeler Maya. The registration says 1976, but I am doubting the accuracy of that. The sticker indicates (in German) Boots-Nr/Baujahr 01442 G. I think the G is a year code but I am not sure.

2. I cannot determine if it is Hypalon or PVC. Since it's obviously older I think It's Hypalon, but I expected the interior of the tubes to be black. They are in fact orange, not exactly the same color as the exterior but close. I read that PVC has the same color inside and out.

3. I have some small seam leaks that I would like to repair. The boat will hold air at a hard pressure for about 6 hours, then is gets a little soft. It then stays at that point for days (never fully deflates). I tested the seams with soap and water and found that the tube seams at the stern are leaking. I do not get large bubbles, but a very light foam. I would like to try the Sealant from inland marine, does it work? I also thought about using Tire Slime or similar.

Thanks in advance
Paul Grafelman
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00002.jpg
Views:	6468
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	34760   Click image for larger version

Name:	00007.jpg
Views:	2255
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	34761  
Old 13 May 2008, 21:31   #2

Town: Stuttgart
Boat name: Boat
Make: Avon,Scorpio,535 She
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 75HP,Johnson 70
Hi Paul, you have bought a Hypalon inflatable . The Metzeler is made from Hypalon. What year it is , i cannot answer. Maybe i can ask someone who can know. Metzeler production was bought in the 80s by Zodiac.