Old 15 September 2020, 20:20   #1

Town: Portsmouth
Length: no boat
Help needed SIB

Hello everyone. I have just joined your group. its great to be here

I need your help please, I am considering a SIB for fishing and crusing, I am new to the world of Sibs, but not boats having had a boat since I was 15 (43 now)but this is my first time looking into SIB's

I am considering a Honwave, maybe 3.5, or 3.8 but preferably the 4.0. I have the ability to keep the boat at the top of a private slipway, so being set-up at all times is not a problem (no pumping up and deflating needed) however the slipway really needs 2 people to launch boats on (theres a winch system normally) and I want to go out alone, this is where the SIBS ability to launch with there built in wheels comes into play, I need to know from you lovely people if any of the models I have mentioned could be realistically launched and retrieved single handed up a slipway with some shingle on, Its not mountains of shingle but its also not just concrete so its a consideration.

Any advice from people who have had these models would be appreciated,

Many thanks

Mike
Old 15 September 2020, 20:32   #2

Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
I had the 3.5 aluminium floor Honwave & a 20 hp Tohatsu fourstroke. Get a decent set of transom wheels, I had the Trem heavy duty and make yourself a tow dolly . Launched it many times solo. Don't rule out the weight of fuel tank, anchors , fishing gear etcClick image for larger version

Name:	Sib Dolly.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	141.2 KB
ID:	135127

Click image for larger version

Name:	allsorts 025.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	155.6 KB
ID:	135128
Old 15 September 2020, 20:36   #3

Town: Portsmouth
Length: no boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddlers View Post