Old 06 August 2019, 08:37   #1

Town: Edinburgh
Boat name: Boat
Make: Valiant V-450
Length: 4m +
Engine: Etec 40
Far from shore

Just wondering do any of you ever suffer from the fear of being so far from shore?
Albeit i'm a newbie and not scared of a long paddle or row certainly not afraid of the boats capability to handle the chop.

But has it happened to any of you that your engine just stopped and you could not restart?

Being a sib i'm sort of guessing no one carries a spare outboard, or is it just as i say break the oars out and get on with it.

Cause I have a thought here given the right wind direction which is a big maybe.
I have a sail that worked well on my kayak, and would certainly assist in my paddling back to shore.

Or is it the case i'm being daft and should not be venturing out that far from the shore.

Yesterday from Granton to Inchkeith was i think according to Google 3 miles.

Is this to far? i don't have ship to shore radio but did constantly check that i had phone signal.

Again sorry for most likely a daft questions but i have a thousand more, I am trying to control myself lol.
Old 06 August 2019, 09:13   #2

Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
RIBase
I think we are all a bit nervous the first couple of times in any boat
Id get a radio & SRC to be on the safe side .........
Old 06 August 2019, 09:15   #3

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Being out in an empty sea, out of sight of land, is one of the great pleasures of boating imo.
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:Don't feed the troll
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2019, 09:48   #4

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8