Old 31 July 2020, 01:29   #1

Town: st. johns
Length: 5m +
convert SIB into RIB

Hi
I'm new to the whole SIB RIB world. I have a 18 foot SIB with a 20HP. Love the boat but I find it is a bit sloppy on the ocean. Any kind of wave etc and you really have to watch it. Personally I think for a SIB the boat is too long. 14 Foot would be the biggest my guess.
Ive been thinking about making a fiberglass hull and putting on my SIB convert it to a RIB

Any thoughts or information would be greatly appreciated. If anyone also has any tips or tricks I can do to my SIB to make it a bit more stable maybe I could try that rather than convert it.

I don't mind the boat as is. I get out and enjoy the bay just looking for options
Old 31 July 2020, 04:59   #2

Town: Lincolnshire
Boat name: Mousetrap
Make: Zodiac Cadet 310S
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 4 stroke 9.9
A SIB is designed as a SIB. A RIB is designed as a RIB. Converting a SIB to a RIB, if it could be done at all, would produce a costly and unsatisfactory hybrid.

Try adjusting the pressure in your tubes and keel.

If it is still not performing as you would like, then consider trading for one that suits your needs.

The RNLI (Britain's life boat service) uses SIBs of 16 feet length, 50 hp, crew of 3 and up to 5 rescued persons, plus all the heavy safety kit, for rescues on the sea in adverse conditions. A properly set up 18 ft boat — 2 feet longer — with only 20 hp, used within its design limits, shouldn't be "a bit sloppy".

Your problem is likely to be either too little tube pressure or too high expectations.
Old 31 July 2020, 07:09   #3

Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 240HP
MMSI: 235115642
RIBase
Welcome to RIBnet.