Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 27 January 2021, 16:46   #1

Town: Southampton
Length: 3m +
Complete beginner - Which craft + legal questions

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner at all this and I hope this is the right section to post in. I couldn't find any other threads on beginning and legal questions, but my partner and I are looking for an inflatable boat or a RIB to have some relaxing cruises on lakes and maybe shallow sea waters e.g. coves near Bournemouth.

Firstly, our budget for the craft plus necessary mount and engine is around £400 total. The craft that catches our eyes the most is the Intex Excursion 5. I understand that, while it's sturdy, it's not technically a RIB. We would be looking at attaching a motor (we understand a mount needs to be purchased first) and would probably eventually mod in a hard floor and collapsible canopy. Eventually we'd like to put in a coolbox and have some friends on it. We have also noticed the Bestway Hydro-Force Mirovia Pro but it doesn't look as comfortable.

What are your opinions on this? We would probably start on the River Hamble, near where I live, but would like to take it to the beach as well e.g. West Wittering or Durdle Door area.

Is this a suitable craft for these areas?

Secondly, we're completely unsure where we stand legally. As far as we know, if we're just going to use it on quiet lakes and rivers, we don't need anything but the boat itself. It would be sensible to somehow store life vests onboard too. Looking at guidance on navigating the Hamble, I believe we'll need a VHF radio. We don't really know anything about the etiquette of communicating with these nor what we're allowed to do other than that I've seen in the archives that we'll need a licence for it. The last thing we want to do is inconvenience other waterway users or put ourselves or them in danger.