Old 17 August 2022, 15:14   #1

Town: West Lothian
Boat licence

Hi all.
I'm pretty new in this so, please forgive me if asking stupid questions

I just moved in to Scotland and would like to buy SIB with engine 6 to 10hp.

I'm confused by different information on web. So would like to ask you guys as this forum seems to be full of skilled people.

Do I need licence for SIB with engine up to 10hp? I will mainly use the boat on sea and lochs (Loch Lomond, Etive, Awe etc.)

I used to live in Canada and there is mandatory to have licence for everything. I still have the licence so maybe it would be valid in UK as well.

I tried look on forum but didn't found relevant answer.

Also as I never owned any outboard engine or SIB, is there any course/ training I could do to get some basic knowledge about rules, mandatory equipment etc. ?

Appreciate any answer.

Regards
Peter
Old 17 August 2022, 15:40   #2

Town: W Midlands
Make: C-Fury Patrol
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha F 50
@Plantex You're in a great part of the UK for using a SIB, there is no requirement for a licence to use the boat in terms of a driving licence, there may be a requirement for a licence to use particular waterways but that isn't a licence relating to competence just a fee for using the waterway.

There are numerous RYA centres offering powerboat training and they may be a good place to start, however, going out with others that have experience is a great way to gain experience.

You can run a SIB with whatever power outboard you like with no requirement for a licence. I recommend getting insurance which is generally very cheap for a SIB, it offers some peace of mind and is a requirement of several slipways for launching in to the sea or several lochs in Scotland including Loch Lomond where you have to register your boat before use as far as I recall.

Do you know what SIB you'll be buying?
Old 17 August 2022, 16:13   #3

@Jung at Heart

Thank you for answer. That's a good news