Old 09 April 2021, 10:14   #1

Town: Northwich
Make: Avon
Length: under 3m
Avon Rover R2-80

Hello,
I'm completely new to all this so please bear with me if my query seems a bit basic.

I've recently bought an old grey Avon Rover R2.80 SIB, possibly early 1980s.
The Hypalon tubes are in good order but it didn't come with the plywood floor panels or inflatable keel (I presume it should have one as the connection tabs are on the inside floor?), and although the transom is solid the varnish is worn and needs re-sealing. I only paid £110 for it so always knew it would need a bit of work! So, I'd appreciate your advice re the following:

Does anyone have the dimensions, a plan or even photos for Rover R2-80 floor panels?

Would it be ok to make the floor panels out of exterior 12mm plywood, if epoxy resin coated / does it have to be marine plywood?

Any ideas re where I can buy stringers / suggestions re making my own?

For the transom, would Yacht varnish be suitable or should I use epoxy resin?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10 April 2021, 18:07   #2

Town: California
Make: zodiac futura
Length: 4m +
Marine ply is far stuffer and stays flatter.
I paint with oil based rustoleum. I was surprised to see other boat builders using it. Epoxy clouds up from sun.
In the early “80s” I had a 4 meter Spitfire. It’s a black/red version of the rover. It’s floor was 3/4” main floor with 1/2” in the nose. Sections had extruded aluminum “H” channel connections with triangle shaped side stiffeners on the main floor sections. Good luck
Old 10 April 2021, 18:15   #3

Town: Northwich
Make: Avon
Length: under 3m
Thanks Pagick, that's really helpful. Marine plywood it is then, as I certainly want it to last.
I've not heard of using Rustoleum on wood, but if it's worked for you I'll give it a try.
Old 10 April 2021, 20:19   #4

Town: California
Make: zodiac futura
Length: 4m +
Use oil base only.
Old 13 April 2021, 15:31   #5

Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Narcissus
Make: Cobra