Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 01 May 2020, 19:33   #1

Town: Hilton Head Island
Length: 3m +
Am I Crazy? My first boat/storage Plan - good info for others new to SIB/RIB too

Howdy Y'all! Skip down below if you just want to see my STORAGE question.
I will try to keep the background brief but hopefully what I have learned will be helpful to others new to all this!

I am new to boating and motors, although I have done miles of open water paddleboard trips so I know I will enjoy a small craft. I am in sub-tropical Hilton Head, South Carolina with mazes of salt water marshland, tidal rivers etc to explore and harvest crustaceans/shell fish (sometimes hook/line fishing)

I have been researching for a few weeks now and here is where I am at, let me know if I went off the rails somewhere please and many many thanks!

So,

I need a boat that can be stored indoors between uses since local storage would cost me about 1,000 dollars a year. That had me looking at 3-4 meter SIBS.

I didn't like the idea of a pure air floor. While they are the lightest and most portable, the nature of my exploring would leave me vulnerable to hull damage. Razor sharp oyster beds and all that. I also wanted to be able to stand stable in the boat and have a robust material between me and the aforementioned oysters in case of an emergency.

I will also be beaching the craft for island exploration and oyster harvesting etc more often than I assume these SIBs are intended for on sometimes less than sandy beaches (shells, stray razor oysters, dried marsh reeds etc)

I quickly realized I would be spending my time on the water worrying more about the hazards than I would be enjoying myself. Of course some worry and caution is good but I knew I would be too anxious to venture far - so why bother I say.