Old 11 February 2005, 01:05   #1

Town: Des Moines, Iowa
Boat name: Perfecto
Make: Merc
Length: 4m +
2 days until my new boat.

Hi everyone, Ive been saving my money for the past year and finally have enough for my first rib/sib. Im a student in Vancouver BC and cant wait to have my first boat. Ive been working my ass off as a cook for the last year.
Now onto the business. The Boat show is on Saturday.
Im probably going to get the Mercury Airdeck 340 with a Merc 25 2 stroke.
What do you guys think about this combination for a first boat going to be used in calm ocean bays and rivers? Thanks! Look forward to getting one!
Old 11 February 2005, 02:23   #2

Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
I am not famiar with mercury airdeck can you post a link.!
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2005, 02:52   #3

oops, ur probably familiar with quicksilver sorry

Its the quicksilver airdeck 340. In north america they are marketed under mercury. Ill fix my original post.
Old 11 February 2005, 08:02   #4

Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Hi Sirus and........

...welcome to the Forum.

I recall the feeling of having to save ones hard earnt cash in order to purchase your first boat, it's a great feeling.

Anyway..... A 340 with a 25 on the tail is going to fly like the wind, in fact if I were honest, I'd question why you are going for this combination. I used to have a 380 with a 15hp 2 stroke on the tail, it would easily plane and cruise all day at a very respectable speed with 3 big blokes aboard. Further, it would easily pull a 9 stone skier, in fact my pals and I taught all our kids and the dragaons how to ski behind her.