Click Here to Login

Old 09 August 2021, 16:35   #1

Town: Midlands
Make: Highfield
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF100
RIBase
Towing with full or empty fuel tank?

Probably a stupid question but I'm fairly new to all this. Just upgraded my RIB from a 3.8M to a 5.4M, the new RIB has a 105L fuel tank. Just wondering what peoples opinions are regarding whether its best to fuel up before making a fairly long journey (3hours), or tow the boat empty and fill up on arrival at a nearby petrol station?

The petrol station I have in mind is the Morrisons at Caernarfon, not sure if there is ample room to get round it with the trailer, or whether they have any funny ideas about not permitting the fuelling of boats (read some horror stories on here about other stations)..... where as I can visit an unattended Asda petrol station the night before with no severe corners to negotiate.

Managed to get 22mpg when towing the boat with empty fuel tank back from the dealers, so unsure what if anything this will drop to with another 105KG of added weight.

Many thanks.
Old 09 August 2021, 16:47   #2

Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 240HP
MMSI: 235115642
RIBase
105 litres of petrol is actually about 84kg as it is less dense than water.

The less weight the better when towing. Why lug 84kg around when you don't need to? I think the exceptions to this are:

If the nose weight on the trailer is significantly reduced by not having the fuel on board. Towing is easier when the nose weight approaches the maximum that the car / trailer (whichever is the smaller) will deal with.

As you've suggested, if filling up locally to the launch site is a PITA.
Old 09 August 2021, 17:04   #3

Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: Suzi 140
MMSI: 232005050