Old 27 July 2013, 04:53   #1

Town: Sechelt
Length: 7m +
super Newbie RIB used purchase help

Okay I'm sure you have heard this before but I am completely new to what I should be looking for in the purchase of a second hand RIB. I live near Vancouver Canada. I'm looking for a used 22 to 24 foot RIB in the $20,000 price range. Based on some of the information I have read 20k might be too little to fork out for a decent boat. The purpose for this boat is to accompany a Sea Kayak rental outfit and to use it as a tender, or possibly have the customers paddle one way and we would go and pick them up. The Kayaks range from 17 to 20 feet and 4 would be the limit on the RIB.
Any decent insight would be helpful, I want to do this right the first time, so please entertain me with some knowledge. I am a capable person and have a carpenters background and 25 years as an appliance technician, so I know how to fix and access things to some degree
Old 27 July 2013, 05:53   #2

Town: Orange County, CA
Boat name: Northwind
Make: Northwind
Length: 10m +
Engine: Twin Yamaha 350's
A 22'-24' RIB is going to be hard pressed to carry 4 kayaks and 4 customers comfortably, there just isn't that much room on that size of boat.

It doesn't sound like you really need a RIB though, maybe something like a Munson Packman or other aluminum skiff with a bit of deck space...
Old 27 July 2013, 14:31   #3

Town: Sechelt
Thanks Capntroy, I do agree that the best boat would be a V hull landing craft, but as usual funding restricts me from going bigger and better so I would have to go this route to start with. The assist boat is something we are trying to introduce into an already established Kayak rental business. kayak camping stand up paddle boards & tours | Pedals & Paddles