Old 06 January 2016, 10:47   #21

Town: Connecticut
Make: Zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: Undecided
If nothing else, where a kill chord for the sake of your family. I have been a volunteer firefighter for over twenty years and have gone on too many search missions looking for boat operators who fell overboard without wearing a kill chord. I wear mine every time I go on the boat and have taught my son who is just learning to operate boats to always wear his. Yes they can be inconvenient , yes I have tangled it around the wheel a few times but in the long run it will save you. The last thing anybody wants is to get hit by there own boat!
When I was 12 , a buddy of mine and I were running down the side of the cove in front of my house and had a pretty serious accident. We were hit by a Boston whaler style boat and both of us were thrown from our inflatable. The kill chord did its job and stopped our boat right there. despite having two chambers and the fabric bottom slashed by the other boats prop, we were able to get to shore. Luckily neither of us were seriously injured but it is an event that I certainly will never forget.
www.DinghyPro.net
cgoing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2016, 12:06   #22

Make: zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp
Unfortunately, the same people that think they don't need to hookup a kill switch are the same people that don't think they need to wear a life jacket and don't think there is anything under the water to hit and don't think they will ever strike another boat.

There are other dangers on the water besides your own stupidity.
Old 06 January 2016, 17:00   #23

Length: 7m +