Click Here to Login

Old 30 June 2008, 17:31   #1

Town: Baltimore, MD
Make: Apex A-19
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard
Best Photo Boat - In the Long Run...

Hey All,

I'm currently looking at two boats with the intention of using them primarily as a platform for water-based photography - . I must add I'm new to RIBs and powerboats in general but that I'm fully sold on a RIB being the ideal boat for my purposes.

So here's my current quandry -

I'm looking at two boats as follows:
- 2001 Apex A-19 Open with a 2001 Evinrude 115hp FICHT - Boat and motor in good condition - Ready to Go - I think I could offer $11-12,000 (which looks in line with NADA, etc.)

- 1998 Zodiac 600 SRMN with a 1998 Mercury 75hp 2-stroke - Needs work on everything - hull needs attention (bottom painted and some barnacle growth) plus some missing and broken parts (console door gone, 2-person jockey seats missing, bilge pump missing, electronics and running lights need rewiring and that's just what I saw) and motor needs complete overhaul if not replacement. Asking $5,000 (no idea of value as these aren't in NADA and none of this vintage on the market). I'm guessing another $3-5,000 to get it in dependable working order.

I guess it really boils down to my asking for opinions on which boat would be better for use as a photography platform in the long run. The Apex seems more consumerish and from what I've researched, the FICHT engines had some troubles though supposedly not the 115's. The Zodiac looks more durable and the console and jockey seat setup look better vs. the Apex's starboard offset console and bench seat, but she needs work and with a max HP rating of 150 seems underpowered with the old 75hp.

Arrgghh...a good problem to have to choose between two boats but any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

B-more Andy
Old 30 June 2008, 17:52   #2

Town: Lexington Park, MD.
Make: Apex A17
Engine: 70HP Evinrude