Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 July 2020, 13:15   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Transducer position?

This get asked a lot, but before I drill any holes want to make sure.
Fitting a new system, if you look close in the picture you can see where the old fitting was, which I am sure was too close to the prop.
So not sure if to go right out to position 4 on the masking tape.
The instructions just says min 3 inches starboard of prop Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2897.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	134175
__________________

__________________
acraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2020, 14:44   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,129
RIBase
Yep mine says 4 inch to starboard of the prop minimum also set level with the water not the hull and depends on the transducer how deep mine is a skimming transducer and in line with the hull. Having said all that I've seen them port side and work perfectly well
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2020, 17:38   #3
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,425
I'd suggest moving it about 6 inches..........
Towards the Bow.

Bed it down inside the hull where it's out the way, and won't get flipped up or damaged.
Lots of threads on here and other forums about how and why.

Nasher
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2020, 00:19   #4
Member
 
beerbelly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: teesside
Boat name: magic
Make: humber 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: mercury 100
MMSI: 232012453
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,189
mines about where your old one was and works well up to about 25 knots on my last hull it was further away from the prop and closer to the water line but it must have come out of the water at about 10 knots as i would lose the signal
__________________
beerbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 August 2020, 11:04   #5
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Cherbourg
Make: xsribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard petrol
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Hello, to find the right position for the installation of a probe the easiest is to take some photo while sailing to see where the water is not too disturbed! on trailer like that it's too random!

__________________
Nico501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.