Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 July 2020, 13:15   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Transducer position?

This get asked a lot, but before I drill any holes want to make sure.
Fitting a new system, if you look close in the picture you can see where the old fitting was, which I am sure was too close to the prop.
So not sure if to go right out to position 4 on the masking tape.
The instructions just says min 3 inches starboard of prop Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2897.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	134175
__________________

__________________
acraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2020, 14:44   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,435
RIBase
Yep mine says 4 inch to starboard of the prop minimum also set level with the water not the hull and depends on the transducer how deep mine is a skimming transducer and in line with the hull. Having said all that I've seen them port side and work perfectly well
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2020, 17:38   #3
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Windsor Brothers
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 225
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,462
I'd suggest moving it about 6 inches..........
Towards the Bow.

Bed it down inside the hull where it's out the way, and won't get flipped up or damaged.
Lots of threads on here and other forums about how and why.

Nasher
__________________
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2020, 00:19   #4
Member
 
beerbelly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: teesside
Boat name: magic
Make: humber 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: mariner 115
MMSI: 232012453
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,255
mines about where your old one was and works well up to about 25 knots on my last hull it was further away from the prop and closer to the water line but it must have come out of the water at about 10 knots as i would lose the signal
__________________
beerbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 August 2020, 11:04   #5
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Cherbourg
Make: xsribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard petrol
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 14
RIBase
Hello, to find the right position for the installation of a probe the easiest is to take some photo while sailing to see where the water is not too disturbed! on trailer like that it's too random!

__________________
Nico501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2020, 23:37   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chelmsford
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 442
IF you can get to the solid part of the hull stick the transducer inside the boat with with silicon. No drilling ir cutting needed and works well at all speeds
__________________
smallribber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2020, 04:25   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica/ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115/ Honda 100
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallribber View Post
IF you can get to the solid part of the hull stick the transducer inside the boat with with silicon. No drilling ir cutting needed and works well at all speeds
Yes i have both my garmin (designed for transom mount ) tranducers araldited in the single skin floor of the boat on my ribcraft and nautica ,never fail even at speed ! ........if you need convincing before final position you can take the sensor out boating in your hand (wired into sounder) and use some KY jelly under the sensor to move it around to find the best position /signal
__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2020, 07:54   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallribber View Post
IF you can get to the solid part of the hull stick the transducer inside the boat with with silicon. No drilling ir cutting needed and works well at all speeds
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
Bed it down inside the hull where it's out the way, and won't get flipped up or damaged.
Lots of threads on here and other forums about how and why.
This is what I want to do but the bottom of the transducer is curved while the hull of the boat is relatively flat. Do you embed it in what becomes a solid block of silicon? How could the SideVu work? Pictures anyone please?
__________________
Limecc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24 November 2020, 12:36   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
Yes i have both my garmin (designed for transom mount ) tranducers araldited in the single skin floor of the boat on my ribcraft and nautica ,never fail even at speed ! ........if you need convincing before final position you can take the sensor out boating in your hand (wired into sounder) and use some KY jelly under the sensor to move it around to find the best position /signal
Hijack alert: Does your Garmin have downvu? Does that work shooting through the hull? Always installed my TD's in the hull as thru-hull TD's are so overpriced but not had one with the newer downvu/structure scan or whatever each company wants to call it.
__________________
AnthonyExmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 November 2020, 16:52   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica/ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115/ Honda 100
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyExmouth View Post
Hijack alert: Does your Garmin have downvu? Does that work shooting through the hull? Always installed my TD's in the hull as thru-hull TD's are so overpriced but not had one with the newer downvu/structure scan or whatever each company wants to call it.
HI hijack ,both my applications are older style £50 transom mount ,duel freq units ,one on a recent striker plus and one on an older 451s ,i cant answer the success on the latest side view stuff ,i have always found the garmin guys second to none on help line . maybe get the K-Y jelly out and do a few tests and report back ,would be interesting to know outcome as i need to upgrade soon .
__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 November 2020, 03:58   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
HI hijack ,both my applications are older style £50 transom mount ,duel freq units ,one on a recent striker plus and one on an older 451s ,i cant answer the success on the latest side view stuff ,i have always found the garmin guys second to none on help line . maybe get the K-Y jelly out and do a few tests and report back ,would be interesting to know outcome as i need to upgrade soon .
I would but reluctant to spend out on one before I hear if it works.
__________________
AnthonyExmouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 November 2020, 09:05   #12
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Cherbourg
Make: xsribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard petrol
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 14
RIBase
Hello I am equipped with a Humminbird Solix not the same transducers but it is the same principle:
mounting glued tranducers is very practical, especially at high speed, there is no risk of tearing it off!
On the other hand, especially for 2D chirps probes, they must be in the water at the risk of destroying them by heating!
Another consideration to be taken into account in order to have a correct depth is to have the tranducer very horizontal in navigation, which is more difficult to achieve by gluing.
For the adjustment, we draw a line on a wide strip of sctocht on the console with a level during a test, this line will serve as a reference for the installation of the tranducer.
The SIDE and the like will not work correctly in glued assembly!
For the DI to be tested but there will be a loss just like in 2D but more important (reduction of the max depth)
There are through probes rather reserved for slow boats, on fast hulls there have been accidents due to the outgrowth under the hull, be careful!
On my, XSRIBS I mounted the transducers on the board after selecting the position by photo with plates permitting a fine adjustment of 2 cm of the height without having to make additional holes.








sorry for my english I'm French!
__________________

__________________
Nico501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.