Old 04 April 2021, 20:52   #1

Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yam 480
Make: Yamaha
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50 hp
Rib Rewire

Hi guys,

New to the forum, and just wanted to see if anyone could help. I’m also new to wiring!

The boat I have is a yam 480 that has been bodged to the extreme wiring wise. I want to start again with it all...

The negative currently comes off the engine to the battery, but there also another negative going directly to the battery switch. Then there is a live straight from the battery up to the switch.

Then there is only what can be described as a complete mess up to the switch panel. I want to make it all safe and add a domestic battery. So I just wondered if anyone had a basic wiring diagram on where to start, and some basic principles... oh and the engine is a yam 50 carburettor model.

Also have a quick question on a couple of things on the boat, I have a stray tube coming up from the leg, but can’t seem to upload the images. And also a wire out of the control box, with green black yellow and red wires. Any help would be much appreciated!
Old 04 April 2021, 21:01   #2

Town: Cardiff
Length: no boat
Welcome how are you accessing the forum? That may answer image issues

The wires from control may be for features you don’t have, power trim/tilt?

Quite a few online guides you want to add second battery? lol for guides on wiring dual batts also what’s on the switch panel? Where is it fused?

Images would help.....
Old 04 April 2021, 21:15   #3

Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yam 480
Make: Yamaha
Engine: Outboard 50 hp
Through my phone and when I try to upload the images it says not valid file.

I do have power trim tilt which all works fine, no display that I can see, that’s of any use at least so maybe it’s that?