Old 21 February 2008, 21:01   #1

Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gingernut
Make: Osprey
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 65
Internal vs external aerial

Hi

I'm looking for a cheap-ish GPS unit for my boat, have found several that offer either internal or external aerials.
If i got one with an external aerial, does it have to be mounted on a horizontal plane? or can it be mounted off (about 20 degrees off level)
If i got an internal aerial, will it be affected by the wrap around plexiglass windscreen?

Which do people have, or would go for if given the choice?

Cheers

Jimmy
Old 21 February 2008, 21:55   #2

Town: Douglas
Length: no boat
Hi Jimmy
I am not a GPS expert but my experience of installing various options may be of value to you.
On my last installation I mounted an external aerial on the top surface of the console (cut a 7cm hole and siliconed the "mushroom" flush with the surface!!). Above it was a full width acrylic screen with a full width S/S hand rail situated over the screen. The system worked without ever losing accurate positional information.
On our training RIB we mounted an internal aerial GPS receiver on the console top surface which also had a full width screen, again no problems with the reception.
I am of the view that with the large number of GPS transmitters normally being received by a GPS receiver at any one time, allied to the relatively slow speed of a boat, it will take quite a large degredation in reception quality before "one becomes temporarily unsure of one's position !!!"
No doubt someone will prove me wrong.
Old 21 February 2008, 22:10   #3

Town: Douglas
Length: no boat
Me again,