Old 29 August 2001, 02:58   #1

Town: Hilton-of-Cadboll
Length: no boat
Hand held gps?

I've just had a look in the 'Compass' catalogue at the hand held gps. They range from Under £100.00 to £several hundred. Any one have any comments about such devices or any websites where I can get some information. How good are they?

Sorry to be asking so many questions but as I am new to boating I haven't yet got the experience to offer advice to anyone. Still give it a few years and I might be the one answering someone else's questions!

Keith Hart
Old 29 August 2001, 05:09   #2

Town: ATHENS
Boat name: SUN KISS II
Make: Nuova Bat 9 Falcon -
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard Mercury 115
Send a message via Skype™ to batfalcon
Handheld gps

Try the http://www.garmin.com and you 'll find some interesting and not expensive models. Personally I currently use the Garmin GPS III, which among other features has got a plotter too. A world map is included as well as a civil map of Europe too (that is if you buy it in Europe). You can use it on batteries or on 12V supply (in your car or boat). The only disadvantage I have found so far (after 3 years of use) is the small size of the screen. But you can't have it all, can you ?
Michael
Old 29 August 2001, 07:23   #3

Town: Lochgilphead
Boat name: Rannsachair
Make: Shetland Alaska
Engine: Suzuki DF50 and F4
I had some useful advice if you look up "Hand Held GPS" posted April this year.

I now have a Garmin 12 backup that I find fully meets my needs, was reasonably priced and easy to use.
Old 29 August 2001, 08:25   #4
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
You can see the earlier thread here

I still reckon the Garmin 12 is the best low cost GPS. Have a look at www.on-line-marine.com -- their prices and service are pretty good (they even have real people you can talk too as well!)

John
Old 29 August 2001, 08:42   #5

Well, you've come up trumps again! Thanks.