Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 March 2020, 03:14   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 24
Garmin plotter to Garmin vhf nmea advice please!

Hi-try as I might, I cant' get them to talk to each other!
They are definitely practising self isolation!!!
Ive wired them up as per Garmins instructions, but can't get anywhere.
Can anybody help please?
It has to be Nema 0183 as I have a Garmin VHF100i and it does not support nema 2000.
So Garmin 551 plotter to Garmin 100i VHF.
Ive Connected Blue TXa on VHF to Brown RXa on Plotter.
Ive Connected Purple RXa on VHF to Blue TXa on plotter.
Ive set port 1 and 2 on plotter to NEMA std and High speed with no diference.

Any suggestions?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 March 2020, 04:25   #2
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,607
Will see if I can look it up, but my quick advice would be based on doing similar a few years which did work would be to A take a break and then draw out a diagram and appropriate notes to visualise the connections and making notes of I think its called baud speed on the ports. Then consult again with the manuals.

if its 100 % correct connections and speed on the ports etc then it could be a bad connection, the wires are very thin.
__________________

__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 March 2020, 06:39   #3
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,701
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongoose View Post
Hi-try as I might, I cant' get them to talk to each other!

They are definitely practising self isolation!!!

Ive wired them up as per Garmins instructions, but can't get anywhere.

Can anybody help please?

It has to be Nema 0183 as I have a Garmin VHF100i and it does not support nema 2000.

So Garmin 551 plotter to Garmin 100i VHF.

Ive Connected Blue TXa on VHF to Brown RXa on Plotter.

Ive Connected Purple RXa on VHF to Blue TXa on plotter.

Ive set port 1 and 2 on plotter to NEMA std and High speed with no diference.



Any suggestions?

Thanks


Try setting them to low speed. High speed is usually for AIS. If youíre just wanting GPS position on your VHF for GMDSS then go low. Also check the output NMEA sentences on the plotter. Itíll be buried in the menus somewhere. You need to be outputting the correct data.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 March 2020, 06:49   #4
Member
 
Bern Hanreck's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Norfolk/Suffolk Borders
Make: no boat
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 842
What's that other thing you have to do on Garmin plotters ? Something in the set up to make them actually output the data to the comms ? Try a google or search this forum . I know it's been covered.....
__________________
Bern Hanreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 March 2020, 06:59   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 24
Thanks all for the suggestions-Have finally worked it out.
There's a grey cable coming from the VHF unit that is one of the NMEA ones-and guess what-it needs to be used as a earth (ground) for NMEA input to work ! Why the hell didn't Garmin make it black-I might have guessed sooner! LOL They do mention in instructions that there needs to be a NMEA ground but in the instructions all the grounds are noted as black!
__________________
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 March 2020, 04:13   #6
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,607
Sounds like it is this, see red arrow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	garmin xxx.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	188.6 KB
ID:	132436  
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 March 2020, 04:55   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by boristhebold View Post
Sounds like it is this, see red arrow
Yes, that's the one!
Wish it had been black-really don't know why they made it grey!
__________________

__________________
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.