Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 October 2021, 09:33   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Nostromo
Make: Arrow
Length: 8m +
Engine: 600hp V8
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,761
Garmin GPSMAP 750S & Depth

I've recently fitted a transducer to my GPSMAP 750S.

I fitted GT15M-IH since I need this to handle the deadrise on my hull, plus an adaptor cable.

Anyway - nothing seems to be working. They're all connected to each other, but I get no depth readings.

Are these actually compatible parts, and is there a trick to get them to work together, does anyone know?
__________________

__________________
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2021, 11:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Boat name: ORCA III
Make: XS500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 60hp
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 131
In settings have you told gps which transducer you fitted,
__________________

__________________
mickter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2021, 11:10   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheltenham
Boat name: Mavi Su
Make: Cobra Nautique 6.6
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150
MMSI: 235114058
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 317
RIBase
Are you using a Garmin transducer 8-pin to 6-pin sounder adapter cable to connect the GPSMAP 750S to the GT15M-IH?
__________________
You Can't cross an Ocean unless you have lost site of shore.
charliee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2021, 11:16   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Nostromo
Make: Arrow
Length: 8m +
Engine: 600hp V8
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,761
I think I did - I will check again.

My main question is have I fitted compatible components here that should all work? If so, I'll persevere - but it's hard to get confirmation from anyone.
__________________
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2021, 11:19   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheltenham
Boat name: Mavi Su
Make: Cobra Nautique 6.6
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150
MMSI: 235114058
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 317
RIBase
I'd call Cactus marine - they are brilliant with this stuff. Personally i think things should work provided you have the correct cables. Good Luck
__________________
You Can't cross an Ocean unless you have lost site of shore.
charliee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2021, 19:40   #6
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,151
I recently gave that exact model away after breaking the transducer bracket and finding it hard to find one of the same transducers which I believe was a 4 pin.
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2021, 03:55   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Nostromo
Make: Arrow
Length: 8m +
Engine: 600hp V8
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,761
Yeah - I had to get a newer model transducer & an adaptor cable..
__________________
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2021, 05:01   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7,029
RIBase
Ring Garmin uk Matt I found then very helpful
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.