Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 August 2022, 17:15   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 80
broken garmin tranducer (the plastic lugs)

One of my boy's mates used it as a step the other day and snapped off the transducer (one of the older style quite chunky ones). My fault for not telling them to be careful of it and only use the actual steps on the back of the transom (of which the first one is quite high so it is a natural instinct to stand on the transducer which is mounted lower, doh!).



Typically snapped the lugs on the transducer itself as opposed to the bracket which would have been an easy fix!


If I get a whole new item can I open it and wire in the cable or is it sealed in which case a right ballache to chase the new cable back through.


Or is there a DIY solution as to how to remount the old transducer back on the mount, is there a repairt kit or suchlike available? I've seen a few bits and pieces on ebay which look like they are designed to perhaps cater for this very situation.


Can't seem to identify the model number of transducer, I reckon it is at least 10 years old!



Thanks all..!
__________________

__________________
Revenger715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2022, 18:14   #2
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,344
RIBase
When you said he used it as a step! Hat off to you for maintaining your composure!

The transducer comes in a variety of specifications and I donít think thereís repair kits. Itís a sealed unit on a length of cable. You can attach the new transducer cable to the old transducer cable and haul that back through .

Things to consider is compatibility. I donít know enough about the technology, but some of these transducers, certainly side scan are expensive. More details here: https://www.garmin.com/en-GB/c/marin...?currentPage=1

Are you sure the damaged one canít be repaired or some sort of fibreglass resin substitute to reform the lugs? Any pictures?
__________________

__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2022, 18:56   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 80
lol yeah I did stay calm - we'd had such a good day and all his mates had been waterskiing and doing ringos and living their best lives I didn't want to spoil the vibe. The next weekend the same group of lads managed to snap one of the retainers for the coolbox on the front deck!! I even stayed calm for that...



On both occasions I was dying inside though ...!! My boat is my baby (and also for sale).
__________________
Revenger715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2022, 19:09   #4
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,732
RIBase
How many pins on the plug?
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2022, 20:15   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica/ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115/ Honda 100
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,129
Or is there a DIY solution as to how to remount the old transducer back on the mount, is there a repairt kit or suchlike available? I've seen a few bits and pieces on ebay which look like they are designed to perhaps cater for this very situation.




Thanks all..![/QUOTE]

Can you dismount the cable from the outside of the transom and relocate and glue inside the boat in the bilge area ,i have 2 poss.similar transom mount garmin sensors glued in my single skin areas of bilge ,will work better at speed than on the outside
__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2022, 13:53   #6
Member
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
Or is there a DIY solution as to how to remount the old transducer back on the mount, is there a repairt kit or suchlike available? I've seen a few bits and pieces on ebay which look like they are designed to perhaps cater for this very situation.




Thanks all..!
Can you dismount the cable from the outside of the transom and relocate and glue inside the boat in the bilge area ,i have 2 poss.similar transom mount garmin sensors glued in my single skin areas of bilge ,will work better at speed than on the outside [/QUOTE]

+1

i use a garmin in hull transducer on my 715, works great and as above works much better at speed than the old transom mount! depending on how the cable is routed you might be able to relocate it to in the hull and just glue it as close to the keel as you can
__________________
Member of S.A.B.S. (Wirral Division)
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.