Old 05 May 2015, 15:11   #1

Length: 5m +
bilge pump / solar panel solutions?

Hi, newbie here.. i'm just in the process of buying a small rib which i will be fitting out myself. Humber 5m assault with Evinrude 2s 50hp.
as the boat will be kept in a marina all year I'm thinking about fitting a bilge pump with solar charger for the battery top-up. The pump will only be for pumping rain water.
seems like i need to guess how much its going to rain in order to work out what size charger i will need.. Has anyone else been down this route and could you tell me what solution works? i.e. what size solar panel is realistic?
i'm not sure how well a solar charger will work when its raining either!!
Thanks
Old 05 May 2015, 19:00   #2

Length: 3m +
What about spray...?

Anyway 5m x 3m boat = 15sq.m

500mm rain in UK average per year. So 7.5 cu.m or 7500litres. Roughly 2000galons.

That's only 4 hours continuous running on a 500gph pump.
Old 05 May 2015, 19:04   #3

Draw is c. 2Amps. So if it was purely rain 8Ah per year. Almost any size panel would do...

I suspect you will ship far more as spray.
Old 05 May 2015, 19:16   #4
RIBnet Supporter

Length: 4m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
500mm rain in UK average per year
He's not in the UK. They have a fairly dry summer.

A certain Mod wouldn't have missed that...

Old 05 May 2015, 19:17   #5

thanks Shiny, i have been getting to that conclusion - i dont see many solar panels in the marina on small open boats. just worrying about nothing as usual
Old 05 May 2015, 19:19   #6

ha Will, good spot
we get our share of flash floods too tho.
but i am looking forward to spinning over to Herm in the summer for an ice cream...
Old 05 May 2015, 19:42   #7
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
Draw is c. 2Amps. So if it was purely rain 8Ah per year. Almost any size panel would do...

I suspect you will ship far more as spray.