Old 25 July 2012, 15:23   #1

Town: Horley
Boat name: Pending!
Make: Cobra
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225hp Outboard
Yamaha Engine Servicing

I have recently purchased a RIB with an 85hp Yamaha Engine and I also have a 5hp Yamaha engine. I have the manuals for both but know very little about outboards. I am a competent mechanic though and have rebuilt a very small outboard and car engines before now. No service agent will let me view a service to learn about the engines do my question is; is it that hard to learn from the manual and should I give it a go? After all I would much prefer to know my engine if it all goes wrong on the water!
Old 25 July 2012, 16:02   #2

Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstars View Post
No service agent will let me view a service
I've always tried to be around when mine are being done, from my old Volvo diesels to my current outboard and never met a mechanic who wasn't happy about it, most are grateful for the company and are happy to talk to people who have an interest.
Old 25 July 2012, 19:57   #3

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Basic 2-strokes are easy enough to work on compared to some of the modern 4-strokes that get hooked up to a laptop for diagnostic report.

Annual servicing should include impeller change, lube grease points, renew spark plugs, drain and clean fuel bulb on outboard (also worth investing in external fuel filter), change gear oil, grease splined prop-shaft and drive shaft, check all electrics and renew terminals where necessary, check idle speed, check torque of flywheel nut, check thermostat and clean housing (you'll need to renew gasket). Invest in a multimeter - they're cheap but invaluable when it comes to electrics, checking battery condition, etc. good luck.