Old 29 June 2022, 07:52   #1

Town: Hamble
Make: Novamarine
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60
Yamaha 6EO FOUR stroke!!!?

Hi,
I recently had an interesting 'buying adventure' on Facebook Marketplace.
My brother said, "you should stick it on the forums, the old men will s@@t themselves." So here it is.
Last night I bought a very clean looking early 80s 6EO (4 hp two stroke) Yamaha short shaft. The conversation at purchase went as follows:

Me: nice looking engine, what oil mix have you been using in it?
Vendor: What what mix?
Me: Two stroke oil mix, you know, in the fuel tank?
Vendor: It's a four stroke, I've been using it for the last Ten years and never put any two stroke oil in it. I bought it BECAUSE it's a 4 stroke and nice and quiet. The guy at work who I bought it from had it from NEARLY NEW and 'ran it as a 4 stroke' too.
('Work', additionally amusingly is a very well known UK builder of luxury motor yachts.)
Me: Do you see that sticker
Vendor: What sticker?
Me: the one on the front of the engine that says 100:1 with a graphic of a drop of oil next to it.
Vendor: It CAN'T be a 2 stroke. I've used it for the last Ten years, mostly flat out with no oil in it. It would have blown up.

A long discussion then took place with me showing where the reed plate was, suggesting that there might be somewhere to put 4 stroke oil in it if he was correct etc. Eventually, he realised and reluctantly admitted the error and a large re-negotiation on price took place. Perhaps I should have walked away, but I bought it, just out of interest to see if it has actually survived the experience.

Compression test and recommissioning today if I get time. I've bought it at parts value, but it seems to be running absolutely fine in a bucket, although I didn't let it run for long once the penny dropped.

I read a long discussion on either here or ybw, perhaps both about how these engines really must be run at 50:1 etc. Puts those sort of worries into perspective I think!