Old 06 April 2021, 17:48   #1

Town: Richmond
Length: 4m +
Transporting Yamaha F15

Hi there,

I’m new to boating and wanted some wisdom from the forum. I’m looking at getting a Yamaha F15 Electric start (4 stroke 15hp) but I’m not sure about the transport procedures. I won’t be trailering it so I will need to put it on the bed of my truck laid down. I know you have to put it tiller down, but that’s as much as the manual says. Are there other steps I have to consider? (Draining oil , fuel, water from cooling system ?) It will only need to be on its side during transport , I have a motor rack at home for storage.

Thanks
Old 08 April 2021, 10:46   #2

Town: Chelmsford
Provided you lay it on the correct side (your manual should tell you this) and support it well so that it does not slide about you don't need to drain any of the fluids from it to transport.
Old 08 April 2021, 11:35   #3

Town: Walcott
Boat name: Lilly G
Make: Excell Volaire 390
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 20 EFI
MMSI: 235925400
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiacgr View Post
Hi there,

I’m new to boating and wanted some wisdom from the forum. I’m looking at getting a Yamaha F15 Electric start (4 stroke 15hp) but I’m not sure about the transport procedures. I won’t be trailering it so I will need to put it on the bed of my truck laid down. I know you have to put it tiller down, but that’s as much as the manual says. Are there other steps I have to consider? (Draining oil , fuel, water from cooling system ?) It will only need to be on its side during transport , I have a motor rack at home for storage.

Thanks
Hi there and welcome to the wonderful world of boating. An outboard engine does not have any water in it, so it cannot be drained. There is a water pump inside the leg, just above the gearbox, (the torpedo-shaped part at the bottom) that is keyed to the shaft that comes down for the engine.