Old 24 October 2021, 15:35   #1

Town: Bergen
Boat name: James pond
Make: Askeladden beetle
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercruiser 1.7tdi
Sometimes turbo not winding up on my Mercruiser 1.7tdi. is it a wastegate problem?

Hi, new boatist here with a question for all you boatanists.
Basically, i can get my boat up to plane from cold with the turbo working fine, but if I throttle down to idle for a few seconds ( to change drivers for example) and then throttle up to try to plane the boat again, it wont rev more than 2000rpm, and the turbo wont kick in. It takes a minute or so of waiting on idle / stopping / starting the engine before it goes back to normal again. ( this doesn't happen all the time, but it's becoming more frequent)
Any ideas?

P.s im new here, plus im new to boateneering, so be gentle.
Old 24 October 2021, 19:43   #2

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
Probably wastegate sticking open they are very troublesome on that engine, usually stick closed & run overboost & melt no 6 piston. Sounds like yours is sticking open after your first run & not closing again until it cools slightly

Sent from my SM-G950F using RIB Net mobile app
Old 24 October 2021, 20:22   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by beamishken View Post
Probably wastegate sticking open they are very troublesome on that engine, usually stick closed & run overboost & melt no 6 piston. Sounds like yours is sticking open after your first run & not closing again until it cools slightly

Thanks bro, I'll get it looked at straight away!
Old 24 October 2021, 20:47   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve10001 View Post
Thanks bro, I'll get it looked at straight away!
Haha just noticed my typo, no6 piston, it should have said no4.