Old 06 July 2006, 21:43   #1

Town: Glasgow
Boat name: Hemingway
Make: Zodiac fr310 Acti-V
Length: 3m +
Engine: 20y/o Evinrude, 10hp
(shocking) Fuel Economy on (old) 10hp 2stroke

Hi all,
Im new to all this, so this could be a real newbie question...
I run an very old (20 yrs) Evinrude 10hp 2stroke outboard on my Zodiac Fastroller340. I got the engine second or third hand and whilst it starts and runs completely fine, Im concerned that the fuel eceonomy is REALLY bad

By my estimate it used about 8 litres of fuel in a 6 mile or so round trip - about 1.5 - 2 hrs running time. That was with only myself and some camping / photography gear on board.

Also, when I kill the engine prior to running up the beach, I notice theres a fair slick behind me, which I really hate to see
I cant stand the though of polluting the very thing Im there to enjoy, so the question is fairly obvious :

How normal is this for an engine of this age ?

I can see there are plenty of technically knowledgeable people on here, so has anyone got a suggestion what can be causing the shocking fuel economy ? My guess was wear n tear on the valves requiring a rebuild - though Im a pessimist aparently

Also, are there any suggestions on what to change or fix to make it better ?

And one more questions if I may...

I am strongly considering just buying a new engine. A shiny new 2-stroke outboard. Specifically a Tohatsu 9.8hp.
How would you say the fuel economy and pollution would compare on a new one of these with my old Evinrude ? And are they as good engines as they seem to be - horror stories anyone ?

Thanks very much. Rather too many questions for my second post on here

Nice to be among you at last

rgds,
Doug.
Old 06 July 2006, 22:37   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Were you running at full throttle or close to it for most of the time?