Old 14 June 2009, 08:07   #1

Town: Nottingham
Length: no boat
RIBase
Scorched Props

Hi all,

Heard a rather unusual comment yesterday. Someone (who should know what he's talking about) said that he had looked at the props on all the RIBs we use at my local sailing club and noticed they were "scorched". He said this is caused by superheated air "scorching" the prop when the engine is trimmed up too much and ventilates. He further said he was going to try to stop all the safety boat drivers trimming up, and rather to use more throttle to prevent this "scorching".

I've been a poweboat instructor for five years, and been around boats my whole life and i've never heard this before. I have seen caviatation damage to props, but not on outboards. Has anyone else heard of this idea?

Have fun.
Old 14 June 2009, 08:40   #2

Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
I've never heard of Ventilation damage to a prop either. But sounds more like cavitation, where the water superheated right at the surface of the prop and creates billions of little bubbles that damage the prop surface.

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 June 2009, 09:09   #3
RIBnet Supporter

Length: 4m +
Yeah, that's a bright lad you have there , burn more gas every day to save a prop change every five or six years! In any case, you'll damage more props launching/recovering than you will from pitting. What's next on his list?

Reduce trimming of sails, to save wear on sheets?
Keep Yachts beached to reduce erosion to antifoul?

He reminds me of certain ribbers (no names!) who buy a £30,000 rib and obsess over whether they use 1 or 1.1L/Nm.
Old 14 June 2009, 09:15   #4

Town: Nottingham
Length: no boat
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
sounds more like cavitation, where the water superheated right at the surface of the prop and creates billions of little bubbles that damage the prop surface.