Old 26 August 2015, 07:18   #1

Town: taunton
Make: zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: 10hp
reboring 2 strokes

I have been sibing for a few years now with my little zodiac futura and trusty yam 9.9 four, which feels like it will go on forever, but I am now feeling the need for a new experience. Probably in the form of a late 15HP two stroke of the yam/merc/mariner variety.

My question is, most of these are now getting on a bit at 10 years old, so how do they stand up mechanicaly and are many now in need of a rebore ?

As a teenager of the eighties I am used to owning hard ridden two stroke motorbikes, and their subsequent need for top end overhauls. So, are most of the 15hp outboards now soon to be needing this work.... or is it different with a boat engine ? These engines still command a fairly high price and a rebore on top of that makes them rather pricey I guess ! Any thoughts or experiences with this one ?
Old 26 August 2015, 07:50   #2

Town: gloucestershire
Length: 4m +
I too was around bikes during the 1980's RD & DT time and did my own maintenance .

I have this year split my 90's 2 stroke suzuki OB, a decoke, de-salt of waterways and light hone of barrel was all mine needed.

I guess a compression test before purchase of motor might help to decide.

Working on one should not hold any terrors for you, if you were used to 80's bikes.

Good luck.
Old 26 August 2015, 09:03   #3

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
I've owned a large selection of sub 25hp 2-stroke outboards over the past 20yrs. Late 70s Suzukis & Yamaha, mid 80s Mariners, late 90s Mercury, early-mid 2000s Tohatsu, Mariner & Mercury. Sizes including 2/3.5/4/8/9.8/9.9/15/20/25hp. About a dozen outboards in all.

All bar two have been bought privately, half of them with no demo before buying, and they have been between 6 and 25yrs old at time of ownership.