Old 04 July 2011, 18:41   #1

Boat name: The mystery machine
Make: zodiac pro 550 open
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp johnston
MMSI: 235074837
Propeller Help

I have a 14 x 17 prop, and i am running a 13 7/8 x 17 prop, which is better on my boat i have a zodiac pro 550 open with a 90hp, W
Old 04 July 2011, 22:22   #2

Town: Melbourne
Make: Zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150
So about 1/8 of an inch difference in diameter, wouldn't have thought there would be any noticeable difference. What other differences are you aware of? Brand/model name, is one stainless and the other aluminium? Different blade profiles?

How does the boat run with the current propeller, what is the max rpm you reach and what is the maximum recommended for your engine?

btw, I'm no expert in the area as I am struggling with my own propeller selection issues.
Old 05 July 2011, 01:03   #3

Town: Fareham
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Brimage View Post
I have a 14 x 17 prop, and i am running a 13 7/8 x 17 prop, which is better on my boat i have a zodiac pro 550 open with a 90hp, W
Try each one on your boat and see which one performs the best. Keep the other as a spare

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2011, 09:12   #4

Boat name: The mystery machine
Make: zodiac pro 550 open
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp johnston
MMSI: 235074837
Quote:
Originally Posted by dun_buyin View Post
So about 1/8 of an inch difference in diameter, wouldn't have thought there would be any noticeable difference. What other differences are you aware of? Brand/model name, is one stainless and the other aluminium? Different blade profiles?

How does the boat run with the current propeller, what is the max rpm you reach and what is the maximum recommended for your engine?

btw, I'm no expert in the area as I am struggling with my own propeller selection issues.