Old 26 September 2021, 15:06   #1

Town: Los Angeles
Length: 4m +
Power vs Weight- Linear scaling?

Hi! I'm new to ribnet. Looks like a great source of information! The one thing I was unable to find is this question:

Let's say you scale up a boat to have twice the weight. With twice the power will it perform the same (which would be linear scaling). Or as boats get larger do they need more or less power per kg?

The back story: my friend owns a SIB that performs ok with 10 HP and 2 adult passengers. That comes out to about 240 kg total for boat, engine, passengers, and stuff. I want to buy the larger version of his boat and load it up to about twice that weight. To perform the same, would I need twice the power? More? Less?

I realize boat performance is influenced by many factors but since I am considering buying the larger version of the same boat and taking it to the same location as I have taken his boat in the same conditions, I think the main difference will be weight.
Old 26 September 2021, 17:41   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hi and welcome to the forum. There isn’t a calculation as such. But it would be easy to advise if we knew your friends boat type/length and the speed he gets with a 10hp. Then to know the length you are considering.
Old 26 September 2021, 18:00   #3

Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
To make a boat go twice as fast you need four times the power. This is presuming other effects don't influence the performance.
In your case you're considering a different boat carrying twice the weight so you're not comparing like boats and they will be different to each other in performance. You can reasonably guesstimate the performance though since you know the performance of a similar boat. The rule is not linear, the rule follows the squared law.
Old 26 September 2021, 19:01   #4

Thank you both for the quick replies.