Old 26 October 2001, 14:06   #1

Not able to reach maximum RPM

I have a Yamaha 150 outboard engine. I have a 19" inox prop. The problem is that I cannot reach the full 5500 rpm (according to the manual). The loads are usually 250 lt of fuel and two people on board. As much I try to trim the engine I cannot reach more than 5000 rpm and 45 miles (not knots). My RIB is a deep V (27 deg).

The question is: Not being able to reach the full 5500 rpm, am I facing problems of engine wear??

Thanks a lot.
Old 26 October 2001, 14:19   #2

Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
If you are not pulling Wide Open Throttle with your 19inch prop then, assuming the engine is in good order and nothing else is wrong, you probably need to drop down a prop size to a 17inch prop. This should enable you to reach the 5500 WOT setting.

You are probably straining and wearing your engine if you cannot make WOT the theory goes. In practice I'm not an engineer enough to understand exactly what the consequences are!

We used to only be able to turn a 17inch prop on our Johnson V6 150 but with the new Merc Optimax can swing a 19inch no probs.

HTH, Alan
Old 27 October 2001, 00:08   #3

Town: cowichan valley
the first thing i would do is raise the motor one or two holes up. this will increase your rpm as well as speed. we run our rescue boat with the props basically level with the bottom of the boat. give it a whirl
Old 27 October 2001, 10:49   #4

Eksrae, thanks.
I will , by all means, give it a try. My engine is mounted at the highest hole so I will try to lift it one or two holes and see what happens.

I have a question though which might sound silly:
If you raise the motor doesn't this automatically mean that the boat's hull (while cruising) will be more in the water thus increasing drag?

Thanks a lot

Lambros
Old 31 October 2001, 05:25   #5

Town: ATHENS
Boat name: SUN KISS II
Make: Nuova Bat 9 Falcon -
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard Mercury 115
Send a message via Skype™ to batfalcon