Old 26 September 2021, 15:05   #1

Town: Exeter
Make: Novurania
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha F50
Newbie and Engine Smoke

Hi all,

I’m new to the Rib scene and have a question about my Yamaha F50 outboard that I was hoping someone would be able to help with with.

I’ve taken her out a couple of times on the water and although she starts great every time, and I don’t notice any smoke initially. After i’ve run her for a while, the white smoke that comes from the back of the engine is quite noticeable. Just wondering if this is normal on these carb engines or not? Can’t say i’ve seen many outboards smoking? I have taken a couple of videos and uploaded them to show what it looks like after i’ve run it ashore for a couple of mins.

The videos are here:

https://youtube.com/shorts/4ab86Y4jD5M?feature=share

https://youtube.com/shorts/FnfYyhi2d6Q?feature=share

Any advice or help greatly appreciated. I was wondering if it were a stuck thermostat or water passages needed a good clean through meaning she’s creating steam but when I had her running for a couple of hours at the weekend in the water she didn’t overheat at all??

Many thanks

Laurence
Old 26 September 2021, 17:49   #2

Length: 3m +
Is it smoke or steam?

If white smoke then it's usually engine oil getting burnt in the combustion chamber because one of more piston rings has stopped doing its job.

If steam then it could be coolant water getting into the combustion chamber but probably just the muffs not giving a perfect seal and air getting sucked up and vapourised which wouldn't be anything to worry about.

First step though is to establish whether smoke or steam.
Old 26 September 2021, 18:21   #3

Town: Exeter
Make: Novurania
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha F50
Thanks for that. I think it’s steam but not 100% sure but I don’t think it’s to do with the muffs. This happened when our in the water but was a lot worse.