Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 September 2008, 15:09   #1
rup
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Vanquish
Make: Cougar R8
Length: 8m +
Engine: Honda 225
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Honda trim gauge inaccurate...

Does anyone have a similar problem with a trim gauge and 225hp outboard or more importantly know how I can fix the issue. Basically the engine can be almost half way up but the needle is still in the down position. Eventually it catches up but it not at all reliable!
__________________

__________________
rup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 September 2008, 15:20   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hypercat
Make: Ringcat
Length: 7m +
Engine: Merc 300
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 293
Hi

Change the sender

I have had two break this year already

Seems to be the only real weak point on all the larger honda engines

The sender is about £60 and takes 20 minutes to fit
__________________

__________________
Trailer Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2008, 11:13   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Might try taking the sender off and lubing it up first (assuming you can get it apart. You can with Yammies.) It's basically a spring loaded lever driven by the motor position, connected to a potentiometer that relays arm position. When it sticks, the lever doesn't track the motor, and you get a down-position trim reading.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2008, 13:06   #4
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,069
Mines no good either on my 90, infact I havent had many that were all that good. I think the problem looks like a set up issue on mine, it does move with the trim as you say but just not at the right place, I havent investigated it yet but wonder if its just a case of re setting the position of the sensor ?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 10:52   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Sensor position should be adjustable, at least to some degree.

Put the motor all the way up and move the sensor arm manually while someone watches the trim indicator on the dash. That'll tell you if the sensor is working.

Assuming that works, manually lower the sensor arm until the indicator goes to full-down. That will give you an idea of where it needs to be. Loosen the mounting screws and reposition the sensor to approximate that position with the motor down.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 12:53   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hypercat
Make: Ringcat
Length: 7m +
Engine: Merc 300
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Sensor position should be adjustable, at least to some degree.

Put the motor all the way up and move the sensor arm manually while someone watches the trim indicator on the dash. That'll tell you if the sensor is working.

Assuming that works, manually lower the sensor arm until the indicator goes to full-down. That will give you an idea of where it needs to be. Loosen the mounting screws and reposition the sensor to approximate that position with the motor down.

jky
The only way you can adjust them is by undoing the mounting bolts and taking out the s/s spacer tubes then rebolting up the unit- this sometimes works but it is easier just to buy a new one
__________________
Trailer Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 15:13   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Okay;

Mine is mounted to a shaft, as I recall; just turn it a bit to calibrate.

Don't know how Honda's are mounted.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 16:09   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: worcester
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
look back

does anyone really use trim instruments, if you cannot tell if your boat is not trimmed properly for the wind/wave conditions you should not call yourself a driver. twisting the head always seems to work quite well.
__________________
ben tye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 September 2008, 11:13   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Do you ever look at the speedometer in your car? Or a thermometer? Or a fuel gauge?

None of those should be absolutely necessary, either, but they do convey information. More info is usually better than less.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 September 2008, 11:21   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Do you ever look at the speedometer in your car? Or a thermometer? Or a fuel gauge?

None of those should be absolutely necessary, either, but they do convey information. More info is usually better than less.

jky

Thats it .. I dont really use mine either, but if its there and working, I'd prefer it to be working properly in case someone less experienced perhaps, needs to drive the boat
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 September 2008, 12:26   #11
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,069
Well I investigated mine today, and it doesnt look like its adjustable , which is pants, when you think that the outboard will get installed on all sorts of transom angles. I'll take a photo of it, but its an arm bolted to the engine bracket that locates onto the outboard body as it comes down.. My normal running position is near its base, so the guage is off the bottom of the scale when set for normal running,..

I cant believe its not adjustable ... do you think there could be some sort of calibration on the guage its self ? , cos its just a potentiometer I think
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2012, 07:23   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,016
What was the fix for this, ours is doing the same having just fitted a new sender. I am going to try another gauge to see if that helps first but there is no adjustment on the sender as the arm is keyed to the shaft on the sender.

Any suggestions?

(Realise this is an old thread BTW !)
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2012, 15:30   #13
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
What was the fix for this, ours is doing the same having just fitted a new sender. I am going to try another gauge to see if that helps first but there is no adjustment on the sender as the arm is keyed to the shaft on the sender.

Any suggestions?

(Realise this is an old thread BTW !)
I never got my teeth into in the end mate, and sold the boat on , but like I said.. there maybe some offset available on the guage ?

I cant remember the way it looked .. but could the arm be modified to alter its length perhaps?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2012, 15:36   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmuz7 View Post
but could the arm be modified to alter its length perhaps?
The way the arm is fitted to the shaft is that is has a flat section so that you cant rotate it on the shaft so that rules out any changes there.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2012, 15:46   #15
Member
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,023
One of mine didn't work got it replaced.
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2012, 16:27   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,294
had similar problem last year, switch just needed a bit of lubrication, but gauges do seem to suffer from moisture
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.