Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 16 August 2020, 15:24   #1

Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 20hp
Forward gear before Full Up Position?

Hi all,

I'm new to outboards and am finding my way around a new 20HP Mercury.

To lift the outboard to Full Up position the manual says 1. Stop the engine 2. Shift the outboard to Forward gear position 3. position the lever to unlocked 4. Fully lift.

My question is why do I need to shift to Forward to tilt when the enigine is not running? Seems odd - do I need to do this every time on dry land too? Can I be damaging my engine if not?!

Similar instructions when lifting to Shallow Water Operation... 1. Reduce speed to Idle 2. Shift to Forward gear 3. Unlocked position 4. Lift

If someone could let me know why this process thaen I'd be grateful!
Old 16 August 2020, 16:16   #2

Town: Winsham, Chard
Make: HONWAVE
Engine: MARINER 6
There is a mechanical interlock which locks the tilt lever when in N or R. It is free in F so that you can tilt or if the engine skeg hits the bottom allowing the engine to tilt. If there was no lock when in R the engine would flip up when going astern. Interlock on N so that when you pull the starter cord the engine does not flip up.
Old 16 August 2020, 17:06   #3

Town: Up North and right a bit
Make: XS500/Merc340/Bic245
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mar 60/20/3.5/Hon2.3
Gear position in neutral whether motor running or not.

To lift. Tilt lever in down position (unlocked). Lift motor to required position.

To lower. Tilt lever in up position (locked). Lift motor slightly and lower gently.

Always run with lever down (unlocked) to allow motor to kick up if striking underwater object.

If reversing with some welly (not recommended), lever in up position (locked) to stop leg lifting. In practice if low revs reversing then won’t need to do this.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Adjustments.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	141.5 KB
ID:	134582