Click Here to Login

Old 09 May 2011, 09:39   #1

Boat name: Searider 4
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 50hp
Evinrude 50hp 2s exRNLI - tilt?

Hi all,

I've got one of these on the back of my new SR4, a mid-'90s engine. I'm new to engines and seem to be having a massive blond moment - I can't work out how to tilt it! It's currently at about half tilt.

I can see what looks like a big hydraulic cylinder where it mounts to the transom, but am not sure if this would be electronic tilt or a gas assist. If it is hydraulic, is there a way I can tilt it without having to use the battery?

Does anyone know more about this type of engine or have any general hints?

Thanks.
Old 09 May 2011, 09:55   #2

Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Next to the cylinder there should be an electric motor with a couple of wires coming out of it. On the other side you should see a reservoir for the hydro oil. I'm generalising here, haven't looked at a small Evinrude for a long time.

You could connect a battery to the wires coming out the motor, both positive, 1 for up, 1 for down, earth to the engine block.

Or much easier there should be a big screw located around the reservoir housing (not the fill/level plug) which operates a release valve. Loosening the screw will allow you to manually let the engine up or down, tighten the screw to lock it in the desired position.

As I said, I don't know 'rudes very well, I could be just making a t*t of myself
Old 09 May 2011, 11:08   #3

Town: Telford
Boat name: ?
Make: Searider