Old 15 September 2005, 14:31   #1

Town: Cowes
Make: Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Trying to decide...
4-stroke versus 2-stoke

Hi all,

I am sure this topic has been covered many times before but I am new to this game.

This morning I went to see a new Avon 620, I am having trouble on deciding on an engine. The dealer suggests a Mercury 115 Optimax, but I had my heart set on a Honda 4-stoke. I have decided -I think- to go with Mercury but don't know if 2-stoke or 4-stoke is the way to go.

Speed is not a priority. Reliability is my no. 1 objective, followed by noise (lack of!) and fuel consumption.

Any pointers would be appreciated.
Old 15 September 2005, 14:37   #2

Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
"Reliability is my no. 1 objective, followed by noise (lack of!) and fuel consumption."

Reliability - all modern engines should be good!
Noise (lack of) - probably four stroke.
Fuel consumption - again all modern engines good!

Do a search as there's loads and loads, and loads on this subject

Suzuki 140 4-strokes are a much more popular choice on your size of RIB. From owners' reports, I believe you would find it outperforming a Honda 130 on every count.

HTH!
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2005, 14:43   #3
ADS

Town: Dorset
Length: 4m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sturmey Archer
Hi all,

I am sure this topic has been covered many times before but I am new to this game.

This morning I went to see a new Avon 620, I am having trouble on deciding on an engine. The dealer suggests a Mercury 115 Optimax, but I had my heart set on a Honda 4-stoke. I have decided -I think- to go with Mercury but don't know if 2-stoke or 4-stoke is the way to go.

Speed is not a priority. Reliability is my no. 1 objective, followed by noise (lack of!) and fuel consumption.

Optis are not known for being quiet although this is not always a bad thing!